My Second Flotation Tank Experience

March 2, 2009

I did another session in the isolation tank and it was very different from my first. This time I got in and was able to relax far more quickly since there was no longer any immediate novelty. I quickly shed the pressures of the day and fell back into a state of non-worry. Not necessarily relaxation. Like last time I had a lot of tension in my neck and shoulders and it wouldn’t go away.

As the morning and my common worries wore off, my mind entered a different mode. I started to perceive what felt like a grid of thoughts. I recognized each thought as a story, but did not observe any detail beyond that. So instead of having a flow of serial thoughts, I had this many faceted network of thoughts floating in front of me for what felt like minutes.

Halfway through this part of the experience I imagined vividly a ticket, floating in front of me. It had lines and a filled in circle in the top left corner. It appeared to be the amalgamation of a CalTrain ticket I was given and another that I had purchased. It was intensely detailed and realistic.

After the vision dissipated I continued to view the stream. And then it ended without a noticeable transition. I sat in the tank, having the impression I had more time. I decided to do something about the pain in my neck and shoulders. Experimenting a bit by moving around, I moved my hands a little bit toward my feet. This garnered the impulse to extend them even further and I dropped my hands more and more toward my heels. Eventually my shoulders widened a bit. I experienced a moment of involuntary inhalation. It felt like I inhaled for an exceedingly long time. Whether that was the case or merely an impression, I do not know. After the action, I finally felt relaxation in my shoulders and neck.

I spent the rest of the time that way. Afterward, I took a walk around the block. My sensation of detail and the hurriedness and involvement people have in their personal worlds was sharpened. It was like I was seeing extra color. I also noticed a comfort in looking into people’s faces.

There have been no apparent continuing effects other than it’s effects on video games I was playing. There was this game Heavy Weapons: Atomic Tank, that I had been getting better at. After the tank I tried playing and found it very difficult. The game is a twitch game, so it kind of makes sense. I wish I had been playing a puzzle/patience game as well. That way I could see if such a game would have been positively effected.

The amount of time I spent in the tank was two hours. I do not know when I will get in the tank again, as it is quite expensive to continue as a habit (though I would love to). If anyone decides to go to Cloud Nine in Los Gatos, tell them Adrian Perez sent you so that I can refer my way up to a free float.

3 Responses to “My Second Flotation Tank Experience”

  1. Jason Says:

    Your relating of the sharpening of color reminded me of a technique I used that tended to leave me with that. I would expel my breath then inhale slowly and deeply (I used to imagine taking in the world, universe, then nothing). Then expel slowly (I’d imagine releasing everything back to it’s proper place). When I opened my eyes afterwords colors looked sharper and more vibrant. Maybe I’ll have to try a dip sometime.


  2. Thought you guys might interested in this fabulous and futuristic floatation tank that I found on-line – I guess they’re also called float tanks, isolation tanks and sensory deprivation tanks


Leave a Reply

